2021 Spring Commencement Awards

Commencement exercises were performed April 30 and May 1, as a number of students were recognized for their accomplishments throughout their studies at Tennessee Wesleyan, faculty for outstanding work, as well as community members for their records of service. Below are the awards and their 2021 recipients.


Athens Area Chamber of Commerce Awards – Brady Brown, Margaret Watson, Hannah Watson

Brady BrownMargaret WatsonHannah Watson

Athens Area Chamber of Commerce Awards are given to the male and female graduates who have achieved the highest academic average, whether or not all of their course work was completed at Tennessee Wesleyan University.


Townsend Award Winners

Townsend Awards - Abigail Williams and Tyler Sloan

This honor is awarded annually to the young man and young woman from the senior class chosen by the faculty as the most representative students of the University.


Stacy Swafford

The Deane G. Hall Award – Dr. Stacy Swafford

This award is presented annually to a full-time teacher who has been on the Tennessee Wesleyan University faculty for a minimum of three years. The selection is made by a vote of the faculty based on performance of the teacher as to effectiveness with students, intellectual integrity and imagination in presentation of subject matter and enthusiasm in the general learning process.


Jack SeitzThe Lockmiller Teacher of the Year Award – Dr. Jack Seitz

The award is presented annually to the faculty member who exemplifies effective teaching in his/her area of expertise. This award is voted on by all full-time faculty, regardless of tenure, the vice president of academic affairs and eight representative students.


The Harry Steadman Award - Rebecca Jaquish (pictured below on right)

The Harry Steadman Award is given to a friend of Tennessee Wesleyan University who has made an outstanding contribution to the Holston Conference of the United Methodist Church through work in a local congregation and/or at the Conference level.


Award WinnersThe Mary Mildred Sullivan Award – Mattie Cardin and Patti Greek

This award, established in 1940, is awarded to individuals who, through their general conduct and their relations with others, possess a marked degree of spirited helpfulness and an awareness of the beauty and value of the intangible elements of life.



The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Noah Fager and Shane Sewell

Noah FagerShane Sewell

Established in 1925, this honor is given to individuals whose life is a continuous expression of those high qualities that enable and beautify living, and bind man in mutual love and helpfulness.


Vant Hardaway

Honorary Doctorate – Rev. Dr. Vant Hardaway

For his extensive service to Tennessee Wesleyan, as well as the Athens and McMinn County communities, Rev. Dr. Vant Hardaway was awarded an Honorary Doctorate for Public Service.